Scavenger in Southie

Literally finding 100 new reasons to love South Boston.

WWII Vet Joined Service at 16, Fought Korea, Vietnam

Leave a comment

Yesterday morning, after a grueling night of drafting clues for your Southie scavenger hunt, I went to Joseph’s Italian Bakery and grabbed an iced coffee and an apple turnover. On my way back, I came upon an elderly gentleman in khaki pants, suspenders, and a black cap with “World War II Veteran” embroidered on the front. I had seen Edward Hamilton walking down L St in South Boston several times before, but I had always been nervous before and hadn’t said hello (yes, even after I decided to host a scavenger hunt benefiting veterans). But, this time I did.

Ed, as he introduced himself, just celebrated his 87th birthday with his four daughters.

E 7th

Leave a Reply

